Thursday, 23 June 2016

Tesco Free From Choc Ice Sticks


Since these Free From Choc Sticks are on offer at Tesco for £1.50 for a box of three, I thought it about time I review them. I've tried them a few times now, and as much as I love a Magnum I also often enjoy the lighter taste of dairy free ice cream. Like the Toffee Vanilla Cones I reviewed previously, these contain lupin protein so they aren't suitable for anyone with a legume allergy, but they're free of all other allergens including soya and gluten. 


Theyre basically a dairy free chocolate Magnum, albeit smaller in size. Theyre coated in "chocolate flavoured coating" rather than real chocolate, which consists of a mixture of coconut fat, sugar and cocoa mass. The ice cream filling is a mixture of lupin protein, maltodextron and coconut fat.


They're very yummy. The ice cream is creamy, yet much lighter than dairy ice cream, and feels less heavy on thee stomach. I would go as far to say I prefer them over a Magnum because of the lightness....although, it would depend on my mood since nothing really beats a white chocolate Magnum! 

If you're dairy free and vegan these are a respectable alternative to a Magnum, I'd highly recommend seeking them out! I'd also recommend the new Tesco Free From Vanilla Iced Dessert which is also very yummy (review due soon). 

8 out of 10. 

Monday, 20 June 2016

Nestle Quality Street: New Chocolate (Honeycomb Crunch) & Pack Design

Nestle quality street

I've gone off Quality Street the last few years, they're ironically not very quality chocolates anymore and they're sold all year round so they're not that special either, but one thing I used to like about them was that they'd introduce a new variety every few years. My favorite was the Forest Fruits cream they once did, and since then they've had a few others such as Malt Toffees, Chocolate Toffees etc. Gone are the Coffee Creams and Peanut Cracknells that many used to love, replaced with a Milk Choc Block, and now this new, exciting, exotic variety...Honeycomb Crunch.

As well as this new variety, they've also updated the packaging design, it looks a little more traditional than the previous incarnation.

Nestle quality street

I suppose I can see why they went with such a pedestrian flavour for a new chocolate, after all Quality Street is a traditional brand and I don't think most older people who used to love it would appreciate anything too fancy. Still, I felt a bit disappointed...but I still wanted to give these a try if only to moan about how rubbish they are.

Nestle quality street

My chance came when they were reduced to £1.50 a box in Tesco recently, probably as a special offer to co-incide with Fathers Day. Although it seemed like a good offer, there weren't as many sweets as I remember having in a box of Quality Street a year ago...I suspect some size shrinkage has been quietly going on yet again.

Nestle quality street honeycomb crunch

The Honeycomb Crunch has a golden wrapper which stands out well amongst all the other chocolates.

Nestle quality street honeycomb crunch

It has a sort of barrel design which is quite distinctive...I want to say that it's almost bee-shaped to fit with the Honeycomb theme.

Nestle quality street honeycomb crunch

Taking a bite, I was disappointed to find that this wasn't a whole honeycomb, but rather a truffle with honeycomb pieces mixed in. It tasted very sweet, with extra crunchy sweetness from the honeycomb pieces, but it wasn't anything too exciting, certainly not on the level of Cadbury Crunchie honeycomb. I wasn't surprised to be honest since my expectations were low right from the start.

The rest of the chocolates were the standard Quality Street ones...I liked the strawberry and orange creams and caramels, but the toffees were too hard as always, and the Milk Choc blocks were plain boring.

Overall, I'm really not very surprised by this new addition to Quality Street, it's very safe and pedestrian and won't bother grannies too much...but I won't be buying Quality Street again, probably.

6.5 out of 10. 

Sunday, 19 June 2016

Muller Light Turkish Delight Limited Edition Yogurt

Muller light Turkish delight

I'm not usually one to eat Yogurt, but when I saw this Limited Edition Turkish Delight Flavour Muller Light in Tesco the other day I was intrigued enough to give it a try. It cost 55p and is described as "Turkish delight flavour fat free yogurt sprinkled with dark chocolate with sugars and sweeteners". Quite why it needs both sugar AND sweeteners is a mystery to me...

Muller light Turkish delight

Unfortunately this isn't suitable for vegetarians as it contains gelatin, but if you're following a slimming world plan it apparently contains zero syns.

Muller light Turkish delight

Opening the lid, it certainly had a strong Rose-scented Turkish Delight aroma. There were little specks of dark chocolate dotted through the yogurt, although once I dug in with a spoon I couldn't really taste them at all. I was initially quite taken aback by just how sweet this yogurt was, I haven't really eaten yogurt in years so this may be partly why, and I don't eat many products with artificial sweeteners either. It was just far too sweet. The Turkish delight flavour is nice although a bit synthetic, but what disappointed me the most was the lack of any dark chocolate flavour whatsoever. The flecks of dark chocolate may as well not have been there, they added no flavour at all.

Overall, I suppose if you're on a slimming world style diet then this might be a novel treat, but it's a pretty horrible yogurt in my eyes. The artificial sweetener just spoils it. Needless to say, I will not be buying any Muller Light yogurts again...

5 out of 10. 

Saturday, 18 June 2016

The Co-Operative Cappuccino Luxuries Ice Creams

The co op cappuccino luxuries

Recently, the Co Op introduced some interesting new varieties into their own-brand ice cream range, there's a few I want to try such as the Peanut Butter & Jelly Ice Cream, but I decided to first try these Cappuccino Ice Creams, or "Luxuries" instead. I just looove coffee and am yet to find a good coffee ice cream so I had high hopes for them!

They cost £1.69 for 3 ice creams and are described as "coffee ice cream swirled with Colombian coffee sauce, encased in Belgian white chocolate with cocoa nibs". They're suitable for vegetarians and gluten free, but may contain nuts.

The co op cappuccino luxuries

Taking a bite I could first taste the sweet white chocolate, it's pleasant enough but not as outstanding as the white chocolate on a Magnum. The cocoa nibs added a nice cocoa crunch, whilst the ice cream has a pleasant coffee flavour, it's not particularly strong but it's nice. The coffee sauce added a further coffee kick, but I do wish there was more of it.

The co op cappuccino luxuries

Overall, these are some ok ice creams but I do feel they could have had a stronger coffee flavour, and also a stronger white chocolate flavour to balance it out. They're nowhere near as good as a Magnum of course, and just made me wish that Magnum would do their own version. They already do an Espresso ice cream, but a white chocolate variety would be so much better! Maybe one day they will...?

7.5 out of 10.

Friday, 17 June 2016

Alpro Cashew Original Fresh Nut Milk

Alpro cashew original fresh milk

When I posted a pic this new Alpro Cashew Milk on Instagram the other day it caused quite a stir...so much so that my curiosity got the better of me and I decided to give it a try. It cost £1.80 in Tesco which isn't all that cheap, but I'm sure it'll be on a £1 offer in the near future.

This milk is of course dairy free and suitable for vegans and vegetarians alike, as well as gluten and soya free. It contains 3.1% cashew nut, as well as sugar, stabilisers and emulsifiers, which is typical for most nut milks. It has 2g sugars and 23 calories per 100ml, and contains vitamins B12, B2, E and calcium.

Alpro cashew original fresh

I poured some into a glass to find it had a rather heavy, creamy texture, almost like full fat cows milk. I wasn't expecting this since other dairy free milks are often thin and watery. Taking a sip, I found it to be pleasantly sweet and quite silky, with a distinctive cashew flavour. It's probably the only nut milk I've tried that tastes similar to cows milk in texture and sweetness. This really surprised me and I found myself enjoying it quite a lot! I haven't tried it in tea or coffee yet but I will be very soon...maybe I'll do an update on that later :)

Overall, this new Alpro Cashew Milk really surprised me, I wasn't expecting to like it at all but it's actually one of the best dairy free milks I've tasted so far; much better than Almond or Rice Milk. If you're dairy free, vegan or just trying to be healthier in general and miss the creaminess of dairy, this is a must-try.

8 out of 10.

Thursday, 16 June 2016

Cadbury Marvellous Ice Creams Jelly Popping Candy Stick

Cadbury dairy milk marvellous ice creams jelly popping candy

Cadbury have extended their "Marvellous Creations" brand into everything now from pot desserts to ice cream, so it was only a matter of time before they did an ice cream stick too. The first (and only) variety in the range is this Jelly Popping Candy stick, and so far it only seems to be available in The Co Op. I paid £1.60 for it recently and it's described as a "Vanilla flavoured ice cream swirled with raspberry sauce, candy coated milk chocolate pieces and strawberry jelly pieces, covered in milk chocolate with popping candy". Phew, what a mouthful!

Cadbury dairy milk marvellous ice creams jelly popping candy

It looks like a nobbly Magnum gone wrong...

Cadbury dairy milk marvellous ice creams jelly popping candy

Biting into it I could taste the popping candy, it's nice and crackly, not tame like some popping candy chocolates can be. The sauce, jelly pieces and candy pieces add some interesting flavones and textures, although because the ice cream was still quite solid they lost their flavour a little. Still, it's an interesting and fun combination regardless.

Cadbury marvellous ice creams jelly popping candy

Overall, this ice cream isn't going to be challenging the Magnum crown in terms of yumminess anytime soon, but it's certainly a nice change if you like to live a bit more dangerously. I imagine kids will enjoy this more than the adults, and it'll be nice to see some other varients in the range. Please can you do a peanut butter ice cream, Cadbury?!

8 out of 10.

Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Galaxy Double Chocolate Indulgence Ice Cream

Galaxy double chocolate indulgence ice cream

I love Jack Fultons Frozen Food stores, they always have import products you're not likely to see in any other UK shops; I've had a lot of interesting stuff from there over the years! One such product I found there recently was this Galaxy Double Chocolate Indulgence icecream, which comes in small pots that were 4 for £1. 

Galaxy double chocolate indulgence

The pots come with a small plastic spoon beneath the lid, which is very handy! The ice cream is a basic chocolate flavour ice cream with swirls of chocolate sauce through it. It looked very inviting!

Galaxy double chocolate indulgence

It tasted okay, but it wasn't particularly chocolatey and certainly didn't taste of Galaxy chocolate. I was a bit disappointed to be honest, after all you expect Galaxy to be in there somewhere! It tasted like a regular basic supermarket chocolate icecream, it's the sort of thing Asda would sell in large tubs for a low price.

Overall, as novel as it is to see Galaxy in ice cream form, don't be fooled by this, it's very disappointing. It's just as well that it's not widely available really! 

5 out of 10.